home . català . español . deutsch . italiano . français
sitemap . credits  
works ars brevis
 The multilingual nature of Llull's works
 Llull and the catalan language
 Diffusion and preservation
 Book of Contemplation
 Book of the Gentile and the Three Wise Men
 Book of the Order of Chivalry
 Doctrina pueril
 Book of Evast and Blaquerna
 Book of the Lover and the Beloved
 Ars demonstrativa
 Felix or the Book of Wonders
 Book of the Beasts
 Tree of Sciece
 Exemplary Tree
 Cant de Ramon
 Rhetorica nova
 Logica nova
 Liber de fine
 Ars brevis
 Ars brevis praedicationis

This work, written at Pisa in 1308, was the most widely read and widely distributed version of the Art. It corresponded to a desire, peculiar to the second of the Art’s phases, to simplify the principles of the Art. The Ars brevis starts by stating that it was written so as to facilitate access to the ‘Great Art’, specifically the Ars generalis ultima (1305-1308).

The graphic devices which render the Art visible, both in the Ars brevis and in the ‘Great Art’, are the Figures and the Alphabet.

The Figures

punt The Figure A and the Figure T are circles around whose circumference letters are inscribed.

Figure A represents the nine most fundamental principles of the Art. B: goodness, C: greatness, D: eternity/duration, E: power/authority, F: wisdom/instinct, G: will/appetite, H: virtue, I: truth, K: glory.
Figura A

Figure T consists of three interlinked triangles, each one of a different colour, arranged within a circle; and it represents three triads of concepts.

Figura T

B: difference - C: concordance - D: contrariety (green)
E: beginning - F: middle - G: end (red)
H: majority - I: equality - K: minority (yellow)


punt The Third Figure is in the form of a triangle and contains ‘compartments’ or pairs of all the possible binary combinations without repetitions of the concepts from the first two figures.

Tercera figura

punt The Fourth Figure is circular and rotates. Upon a fixed circular corona marked with the nine letters from B to K, are superimposed two more smaller circles, marked with the same letters, and capable of rotating around their common centre. This device serves to generate ‘compartments’ of three letters by rotating the inner circles. In the Tabula generalis (1293-1294) Llull provided a “Table” displaying all the possible ternary combinations without repetitions, which amounted to 1,680; the Fourth Figure of the Ars brevis summarised this function of the Art.

Quarta figura

The Alphabet

As regards the Alphabet, the Ars brevis uses the letters A T to designate the figures relating to the principles, while the nine letters between B to K acquire different values according to whether they represent the principles from Figure A, those from Figure T or from four more series of concepts, which make up the Alphabet of the Ars brevis.


The four series of additional concepts are:

Questions or Rules. B: Is it?/possibility. C: What is it?/essence. D: From/Of what is it?/matter. E: Why is it?/form. F: How much is it?/quantity. G: Which is it?/quality. I: When is it?/time. H: Where is it?/place. K: How is it?/ mode and With what is it?/instrument.
Subjects. B: God. C: Angel. D: Heavens. E: Man. F: Imaginative. G: Sensitive. H: Vegetative. I: Elementative. K: Instrumentative.
Virtues. B: Justice. C: Prudence. D: Fortitude. E: Temperance. F: Faith. G: Hope. H: Charity. I: Patience. K: Piety.
Vices. B: avarice. C: gluttony. D: lust. E: pride. F: accide. G: envy. H: ire. I: lying. K: inconstancy.

The Ars brevis operates in accordance with a remodelled version of logic that Llull dealt with in the Logica nova (1303): the ‘compartments’ containing two or three concepts correspond, therefore, to propositions and syllogisms. The Art shows one how to ‘find’ all possible propositions and syllogisms from the terms given in the Alphabet and how to verify their truth or falsity. The Tree of Science (1295-1296), on the other hand, reveals how the structure of principles and relations in the Ars brevis is linked with the whole of the intelligible world.

The Ars brevis contains thirteen highly dense parts. The first part presents the Alphabet; the second, the Figures; the third, the definitions of the Principles; the fourth, the Rules; the fifth, the Table; the sixth, the Evacuation of the Third Figure; the seventh, the Multiplication of the Fourth Figure; the eighth, the ‘mixing’ (‘mixtio’) or combining of the Principles and the Rules; the ninth, the nine Subjects; the tenth, the application [of the Art]; the eleventh, the questions; the twelfth, familiarisation [with the Art]; the thirteenth, ‘the way to teach this Art’.

See: Anthony Bonner, Selected Works of Ramon Llull (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1985), Vol. I, pp. 569-646.

enllaç UB Centre de Documentació Ramon Llull